2021-2022 RESOURCES

Hands holding Amari and the Night Brothers open.
A young boy reading Ground Zero while sitting at a table.
A girl reading COG while sitting on a swing.

A Bowl Full of Peace. by Caren Stelson. Illustrations by Akira Kusaka.

History.com - Photos: Hiroshima and Nagasaki Before and After the Bombs: https://www.history.com/news/hiroshima-nagasaki-atomic-bomb-photos-before-after

National Geographic - How Paper Cranes Became a Symbol of Healing in Japan: https://blog.nationalgeographic.org/2015/08/28/how-paper-cranes-became-a-symbol-of-healing-in-japan/

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=70083

YouTube - Interview with the Illustrator: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9m0UgY2ZML4


All Thirteen: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys’ Soccer Team. by Christina Soontornvat.

Soontornvat.com - Teacher Discussion Guide (PDF): https://soontornvat.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/All_Thirteen_TG.pdf

YouTube - All Thirteen Live! A Conversation Between Christina Soontornvat and Colby Sharp: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qe8mT2VT78

familyeducation - Safety Tips for Hiking and Camping: https://www.familyeducation.com/life/outdoor-safety/safety-tips-hiking-camping

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=70450

U.S. Forest Service - Cave Safety: https://www.fs.usda.gov/visit/know-before-you-go/cave-safety


Amari and the Night Brothers. by B.B. Alston.

YouTube - Audiobook Excerpt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcGz8s2NsTw

YouTube - Writing Middle Grade Fantasy with B.B. Alston, author of AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KT1kyt9qAP0

HarperCollins - Teaching Guide: https://b0f646cfbd7462424f7a-f9758a43fb7c33cc8adda0fd36101899.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com/teaching-guides/TG-9780062975164.pdf

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=74037


Before the Ever After. by Jacqueline Woodson.

Random House - Official Teacher Guide (includes additional books): https://images.randomhouse.com/teachers_guides/9780399545436.pdf

American Association of Neurological Surgeons - Sports-related Head Injury: https://www.aans.org/en/Patients/Neurosurgical-Conditions-and-Treatments/Sports-related-Head-Injury

Nationwide Children's Hospital - Concussions in Sports: https://www.nationwidechildrens.org/specialties/sports-medicine/sports-medicine-articles/concussions-in-sports-article

School Library Journal - Remembering and Healing with Before the Ever After: https://www.theclassroombookshelf.com/2021/03/remembering-and-healing-with-before-the-ever-after/

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=71782


COG. by Greg Van Eekhout.

Greg Van Eekhout Author Page: https://writingandsnacks.com/

builtin.com - The Future of AI: How Artificial Intelligence Will Change the World: https://builtin.com/artificial-intelligence/artificial-intelligence-future

YouTube - Robots dancing to Do You Love Me?: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fn3KWM1kuAw

The Librarian's Toolbox - Discussion Questions and STEM activity to accompany COG: https://thelibrarianstoolbox.com/2020/07/10/4-6th-grade-book-club-cog/#:~:text=Discussion%20Questions%3A,Cog%20different%20from%20other%20robots%3F

Brazos Bookstore - Interview with Greg Van Eekhout, author of COG!: https://www.brazosbookstore.com/articles/kids-article/joy-interviews-greg-van-eekhout-author-cog

MIT Media Lab - Kids teach AI a little humanity with Cognimates: https://medium.com/mit-media-lab/kids-teach-ai-a-little-humanity-with-cognimates-e812aa91e221

ThinkML - Artificial Intelligence for Kids: https://thinkml.ai/artificial-intelligence-ai-for-kids/

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=67735


Faithful Spy. by John Hendrix.

SCRIBD - Amulet Books Teaching Guide: https://www.scribd.com/document/393791067/The-Faithful-Spy-Teaching-Guide#fullscreen&from_embed

John Hendrix website - Research Process for The Faithful Spy: https://goose-hawk-c589.squarespace.com/bonhoeffer-research

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=59676

Redeemed Reader - The Faithful Artist: An Interview with John Hendrix: https://redeemedreader.com/2019/03/the-faithful-artist-an-interview-with-john-hendrix/


From the Desk of Zoe Washington. by Janae Marks.

HarperCollins - Reading Guide for From the Desk of Zoe Washington (and other titles): https://b0f646cfbd7462424f7a-f9758a43fb7c33cc8adda0fd36101899.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com/reading-guides/RG-9780062875853.pdf

Harper Stacks - Using From The Desk of Zoe Washington to Teach About Criminal Justice: https://harperstacks.harpercollins.com/blog/teaching-criminal-justice-from-an-educator-whose-father-was-incarcerated/

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=67593

Middle Grade at Heart Book Club - Author interview, discussion questions, activity, and recipe: https://mailchi.mp/473fdbe08b81/april-book-club-from-the-desk-of-zoe-washington-1378387?e=51d4a3693d

Reading is Resistance - Guided Anti-Bias/Anti-Racist Reading of From The Desk of Zoey Washington for grades 5+: https://www.readingisresistance.com/post/from-the-desk-of-zoey-washington

Reading is Resistance - Teaching Tolerance Social Justice Standards: https://www.readingisresistance.com/teaching-standards


Ground Zero. by Alan Gratz.

US Dept. of Education - 911 Materials for Teachers: https://www.ed.gov/911anniversary

Scholastic: Understanding September 11: https://www.scholastic.com/teachers/collections/teaching-content/understanding-september-11/

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=74479

History.com: September 11 Attacks: https://www.history.com/topics/21st-century/9-11-attacks

From the Mixed-Up Files Blog - Interview with Alan Gratz about Ground Zero and his writing process: https://fromthemixedupfiles.com/ground-zero-interview-and-giveaway-with-author-alan-gratz/


I Can Make This Promise. by Christine Day.

HarperCollins - I Can Make This Promise Discussion Guide: https://b0f646cfbd7462424f7a-f9758a43fb7c33cc8adda0fd36101899.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com/reading-guides/RG-9780062871992.pdf

Middle Grade at Heart Book Club - Author interview, discussion questions, activity and recipe: https://mailchi.mp/a577ee5840d7/mgheart-february-newsletter-i-can-make-this-promise-by-christine-day-1191403

An Educator’s Guide to the Works of Christine Day: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zSKGlohOe4YWRJs2z7L8Uokg31WGyxot/view

National Indian Child Welfare Association - Setting the Record Straight: The Indian Child Welfare Act Fact Sheet: https://www.nicwa.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Setting-the-Record-Straight-2018.pdf

Seattle Weekly - The Man Who Burned Down Chief Seattle’s Lodge: https://www.seattleweekly.com/news/the-man-who-burned-down-old-man-house/

Northwest Coast Archaeology - D’Suq’Wub: Old Man House: https://qmackie.com/2010/04/04/old-man-house/


Me and Sam-Sam handle the Apocalypse. by Susan Vaugh.

American Kennel Club - Teach Your Puppy These 5 Basic Cues: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/training/teach-your-puppy-these-5-basic-commands/

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=63557


Missing Mike. by Shari Green.

Penn State College of Agricultural Sciences - Wildfire Lesson Plans: https://ecosystems.psu.edu/outreach/youth/sftrc/wildfire-lesson-plans

National Fire Protection Association - Wildfire Community Preparedness Day: https://www.nfpa.org/Public-Education/Fire-causes-and-risks/Wildfire/National-Wildfire-Community-Preparedness-Day

Idaho Public Television - Wildfires: Teachers: https://sciencetrek.org/sciencetrek/topics/wildfire/teachers.cfm

Smokey Bear Live - Lesson Plans: https://smokeybearlive.org/resources/lesson-plans


Scritch Scratch. by Lindsay Currie.

Lindsay Currie Website - Teacher Resources: https://www.lindsaycurrie.com/spooky-101


Shine. by J.J. and Chris Grabenstein.

Chris Grabenstein website - Shine! Extras: https://chrisgrabenstein.com/books/shine/shine-extras/

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=67774


Starting from Seneca Falls. by Karen Schwabach.

National Park Service - Women’s Rights National Historical Park: https://www.nps.gov/wori/index.htm

Ducksters - Civil Rights for Kids: Women’s Suffrage: https://www.ducksters.com/history/civil_rights/womens_suffrage.php

Kiddle - Seneca Falls Convention Facts for Kids: https://kids.kiddle.co/Seneca_Falls_Convention

Khan Academy - Women’s Rights and the Seneca Falls Convention: https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/us-history/the-early-republic/culture-and-reform/a/womens-rights-and-the-seneca-falls-convention


Thanku: Poems of Gratitude. Illustrated by Marlena Myles. Edited by Miranda Paul.

Harvard Health Publishing - Giving Thanks Can Make You Happier: https://www.health.harvard.edu/healthbeat/giving-thanks-can-make-you-happier

Miranda Paul - for teachers: http://mirandapaul.com/for-teachers/

How to Write a Tricube Poem: https://secureservercdn.net/50.62.88.172/0c1.1af.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/How_To_Write_A_Tricube_Poem.pdf

How to Write an Etheree Poem: https://secureservercdn.net/50.62.88.172/0c1.1af.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/How-to-Write-an-Etheree-Poem-Worksheet-for-Kids.pdf

How to Write Math Poetry / Math Poems: https://secureservercdn.net/50.62.88.172/0c1.1af.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/How-to-Write-a-Math-Poem-Equation-Thanku.pdf

THANKU: POEMS OF GRATITUDE Teacher Resources for Math Poetry: https://secureservercdn.net/50.62.88.172/0c1.1af.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/Thanku-Teacher-Resource-Math-Poetry.pdf


The Blackbird Girls. by Anne Blankman.

Jewish Book Council - Sur­vival and Truth: A Con­ver­sa­tion with Anne Blankman: https://www.jewishbookcouncil.org/pb-daily/survival-and-truth-a-conversation-with-anne-blankman

University of Colorado TeachEngineering, STEM Curriculum for K-12 - Hands-on Activity: Chernobyl Empathy: https://www.teachengineering.org/activities/view/ncs-2026-chernobyl-empathy-nuclear-energy

Facing History & Ourselves - The Persistence of Antisemitism: https://www.facinghistory.org/holocaust-and-human-behavior/chapter-11/persistence-antisemitism

Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament - The Chernobyl Disaster Teacher Briefing: https://cnduk.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/Activity-C-The-Chernobyl-Disaster.pdf


The Boy Who Dreamed of Infinity. by Amy Alznauer.

bricks4kidz - Math is Everywhere, So Go Out and Discover It!: https://www.bricks4kidz.com/blog/math-is-everywhere-so-go-out-and-discover-it/

The Conversation - Five Ways Ancient India Changed the World – With Maths: https://theconversation.com/five-ways-ancient-india-changed-the-world-with-maths-84332

Amy Alznauer - Kolams and Kolam Tiles: https://www.amyalz.com/kolams

Amy Alznauer - Resources & Activities: https://www.amyalz.com/resources-and-activities

Amy Alznauer - Tigers & Goats: https://www.amyalz.com/goatsandtigers

Amy Alznauer - Magic Squares: https://www.amyalz.com/magic-squares

Amy Alznauer - What is Inside a Number? (Word Doc): https://www.amyalz.com/s/Guide-What-is-inside-a-number.docx

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=73641


They Call us Enemy. by George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott. Art by Harmony Becker.

National Archives - Japanese-American Internment During World War II: https://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/japanese-relocation

Random House - A Teacher’s Guide to They Called Us Enemy: https://images.randomhouse.com/promo_image/9781603094504_6680.pdf

New York Times - Teaching Japanese-American Internment Using Primary Resources: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/12/07/learning/lesson-plans/teaching-japanese-american-internment-using-primary-resources.html

Densho Learning Center: https://densho.org/learning-center/

Smithsonian’s History Explorer - Educator Guide for Righting a Wrong: Japanese Americans and World War II: https://historyexplorer.si.edu/resource/educator-guide-righting-wrong-japanese-americans-and-world-war-ii


Things seen from Above. by Shelley Pearsall.

Encyclopaedia Brittanica - Crop Circles: https://www.britannica.com/art/crop-circle

YouTube - WIRED: How This Guy Makes Amazing Sand Art: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEpz8Z2BMAc

Creative Blog - Beach art: 10 awe-inspiring designs: https://www.creativebloq.com/design/beach-art-2131831

My Modern Met - Land Artist Surprises Beach Goers By Leaving Striking Stone Arrangements Along the Coast: https://mymodernmet.com/jon-foreman-stone-land-art/

LiveScience - The Crop Circle Mystery: A Closer Look: https://www.livescience.com/26540-crop-circles.html

BBC News -Crop circle 'inventor's' son talks about father's legacy: https://www.bbc.com/news/av/uk-england-hampshire-49608647

YouTube - From mind to maze: The making of a corn maze: https://youtu.be/DjHkNfcL1oM


Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez. by Adrianna Cuevas.

Adrianna Cuevas - Teacher Guide: https://adriannacuevas.files.wordpress.com/2019/06/ac_teacherguide-2.pdf

New Hampshire PBS NatureWorks - Communication: http://www.nhptv.org/natureworks/nwep3.htm

TeachingBooks - https://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=72097